Life Member and Honour Board inductees 2020-21

Bicycle Network’s National Volunteer Week celebrations kicked off last night with our annual awards ceremony to recognise the generous contributions of our volunteers and the impact their efforts have on our organisation.

21 of Bicycle Network’s most loyal and dedicated volunteers were recognised at the event, with twelve volunteers inducted to Bicycle Network’s Honour Board and nine volunteers receiving Life Membership.

Honour Board recognition is achieved after a minimum of five years on Bicycle Network’s board, or seven years in another volunteer capacity, donating at least 50 hours of their time.

Life Membership is achieved after a minimum of ten years of active volunteering, donating at least 50 hours of their time.

The COVID-19 pandemic prevented the award ceremony from being held in 2020, so fifteen of these volunteers were presented with their awards retrospectively.

Volunteer Coordinator, Sarah Cunningham says National Volunteer Week is one of the most anticipated events on the Bicycle Network calendar.

"It gives us an opportunity to say thank you for the incredible work that volunteers do to support our organisation and our mission of creating a more bike-friendly Australia", said Ms Cunningham.

Since Bicycle Network was established more than 40 years ago, volunteers have assisted across all areas of the Bicycle Network organisation – from events to super counts, to serving on the board and helping in the office.

The celebrations will conclude on Friday morning with a breakfast at Bicycle Network’s headquarters.

Interested in volunteering with Bicycle Network? Click here to find out what opportunities we have available.

Bicycle Network Volunteer Awards

2020-21 Inductees

Honour Board Inductees

Alasdair Sinclair

Frank Coppens

Margaret Sewell

Peter Dodd

Stewart Livingston

Tim Austin

Vivek Prabhakar

Brien Roberts

Gary Young

Richard Clarke

Steve Milton

Wally Sharpe

New Life Members

Edward Leihitu

Geoffrey Taig

Jim & Julie Rees

Richard and Ruth Langman

Sandra Portlock

Vivienne Zoppolato

Adrian Versteegen

Life member and honour board inductees

The 2020-21 Life Member and Honour Board inductees at National Volunteer Week celebrations.

This article was made possible by the support of Bicycle Network's members who enable us to make bike riding better in Australia.