Super Sunday set for 8 November

Registrations are now open for Bicycle Network's Super Sunday recreational count on Sunday 8 November 2020.

Super Sunday counts tally and record information about weekend users of off-road trails and paths, including bike riders, walker and dogs.

The data gathered on behalf of local councils helps planners understand how paths and trails are used, what improvements can be made and what can be learnt for future developments.

Super Sunday also shows the growth in bike rider and walker numbers. Data from the 2019 Super Sunday count was used as a benchmark during Melbourne coronavirus restrictions to measure the great bike boom of 2020. 

So far, there are 15 councils participating in Super Sunday 2020, with more than 130 count sites spread across those councils.

Three participating councils are in New South Wales, two in South Australia, two in Western Australia and eight in Victoria.

People can now register as a Super Sunday volunteer counter and choose a count site in their local area.

Volunteers will be given $140 to put towards their Bicycle Network membership or donate to a charity or community group of their choice. Volunteer packs will include a blue Super Sunday t-shirt, count sheets and instructions.

Click here to register as a Super Sunday volunteer counter.

Coronavirus information

Volunteer counters will need to adhere to any coronavirus restrictions in place on 8 November in their local area.

The count will only be able to be held in councils in metropolitan Melbourne during the third step out of coronavirus restrictions. If the third step is not reached by 8 November, the count will be postponed for councils in metropolitan Melbourne.

Super Sunday recreational count

Date: Sunday 8 November 2020
Time: 9:00am – 1:00pm*
Where: More than 130 count sites around Australia – see the dropdown list for more information
*Cockburn and Kingston council counts are from 7:00am to 11:00am

Participating councils

New South Wales
New South Wales councils participating in Super Sunday 2020
  • Parramatta City Council (11 count sites)
  • City of Canterbury Bankstown (9 count sites)
  • Wagga Wagga City Council (4 count sites)
South Australia
South Australia councils participating in Super Sunday 2020
  • City of Mitcham (10 count sites)
  • City of Marion (4 count sites)
Victoria councils participating in Super Sunday 2020
  • Boroondara City Council (11 count sites)
  • Moonee Valley City Council (6 count sites)
  • Hobsons Bay City Council (15 count sites)
  • Maribyrnong City Council (7 count sites)
  • Greater Dandenong City Council (9 count sites)
  • City of Melbourne (9 count sites)
  • City of Yarra (4 count sites)
  • City of Kingston (3 count sites)
  • City of Monash
Western Australia
Western Australia councils participating in Super Sunday 2020
  • Perth City Council (11 count sites)
  • City of Cockburn (20 count sites)
  • Town of Cottesloe
Register now

This article was made possible by the support of Bicycle Network's members who enable us to make bike riding better in Australia.

Save big with our special end of financial year bonus offer! Use the promo code save50 to score 50% off annual memberships.

Join now