Board members


David Smith - President

Elected: 2011

David is currently a Partner at Gadens. He has over 16 years of experience as a partner in large commercial law firms.

He is experienced in advising numerous large not-for-profit companies on corporate governance issues and has previous experience on a not-for-profit board as a Director of the Bone Marrow Donor Institute. He is currently a director of listed technology company, Environmental Clean Technologies Ltd.

David believes there are many strands to tackling safety issues. They include education for drivers, cyclists and the general public, improving cycling infrastructure and lobbying legislators to treat cycling issues with greater priority and consistency.


Zena Burgess - Vice President

Elected: 2012

Member of: Co-option Working Group

Zena is currently the Chief Executive Officer of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners. She has several years' working directly in health and allied health industries, diverse board and senior leadership experience. With an understanding of change processes through her professional background in psychology her skills are highly regarded.

Zena believes cycling is an activity which provides an easy way to travel, is healthy, safe, adventurous and friend making. Cycling can build respect for both environment and people. She is keen to build a positive reputation for cycling, cyclists and encourage community engagement within the breath of cycling participation options.


Jo Curtin

Elected: 2015

I love my local communities and I love to ride. As a young female commuter cyclist and active volunteer since 2008, I see our positive, successful association embracing riders of all ages, backgrounds and abilities, advocating for safe infrastructure, supporting riders lacking confidence, and demonstrating cycling’s environmental and health benefits.

Kerry Gill

Elected: 2014

Member of: Audit and Risk Committee

Kerry has extensive experience in senior finance-related roles in a wide variety of businesses including not-for-profit, transport, health and manufacturing. Most recently Kerry has gained experience with AXA/AMP and NAB as a Company Secretary where she was able to combine and utilise her finance and governance skills. Her qualifications include being a Chartered Accountant and a Chartered Secretary. Kerry is a long standing member of a peninsula based recreational cycling group and has participated in a number of events over the years including Easter Bike, Great Melbourne Bike Ride, Around the Bay in a Day and a Bike SA Kangaroo Island tour. Her first involvement with Bicycle Network was over 15 years ago when her sister-in-law gave a membership as a Christmas present.


Peter Thurling

Co-opted to the Board: 2014

Peter is an Engineer and Project Manager, with 15 years experience in Defence Industry, currently working for Taylor Bros Marine Pty Ltd.

He has been a member of Bicycle Tasmania for four years and on the committee of that organisation for three.  Peter has held the role of rides co-ordinator in that organisation for two years, organising mass participation rides and events around Southern Tasmania.  Peter is also a member of the Clarence Council Bicycle Steering Committee advocating for cycling infrastructure around Hobart’s Eastern shore.  He hopes to bring to the board practical knowledge of cycling and cycling advocacy, particularly in Tasmania.   Peter commutes to work by bike every day, rides recreationally and loves to get out on the beautiful and challenging roads and trails in his home state.  Peter first rode Around the Bay in 2008 and is keen to be involved in the delivery of more Bicycle Network events around Australia. Peter is lucky enough to have a wife and two young daughters who support his cycling interests.


Keir Paterson

Elected: 2016

Profile to come